The July 2025 report that got families' attention
On July 8, 2025, Gavin McKenna — then the reigning CHL Player of the Year with the WHL's Medicine Hat Tigers — announced his commitment to Penn State. Penn State's announcement did not disclose any NIL terms.
In July 2025, College Hockey Insider, The Athletic and ESPN each reported that his NIL package was in the range of about $700,000, and that Michigan State's offer was reportedly $200,000–$300,000 (summary of the reports). These are media reports citing unnamed sources; the figure was not part of Penn State's official announcement. The Athletic described it as the largest NIL deal reported for a college hockey player at the time.
McKenna went on to record 51 points in 35 games for Penn State in 2025–26 and was selected first overall by the Toronto Maple Leafs in the 2026 NHL Draft, according to NHL.com.
Keep it in perspective: this was a generational prospect. A package like this is not a typical college hockey offer, and no one should expect similar amounts.
What actually changed in college hockey
- NIL (name, image and likeness). College athletes can be paid for the use of their name, image and likeness — for example by businesses or collectives. This is separate from a scholarship.
- School revenue sharing. Under the court-approved House settlement, Division I schools that opt in may pay athletes directly, starting July 1, 2025. According to College Hockey Inc., the total a school may share is capped at a percentage (22%) of average power-conference athletics revenue. How much of that, if any, goes to hockey is each school's decision.
- Scholarship limits replaced by roster limits. The NCAA removed sport-specific scholarship limits for participating schools and replaced them with roster limits, so those schools may offer scholarships to every player on the roster. The College Sports Commission publishes each sport's limit.
- Not every school opted in. Schools that did not opt in cannot pay players directly and remain under the previous scholarship limits; their players can still earn NIL money from outside parties.
- CHL players can now play NCAA hockey. In November 2024 the NCAA Division I Council allowed Major Junior players to keep NCAA eligibility if they are paid no more than actual and necessary expenses. The change took effect August 1, 2025, which is what made McKenna's move from the WHL to Penn State possible.
Why this still matters for youth hockey families
- Financial support can now come from several places — athletic scholarships (full or partial), school revenue sharing, and outside NIL deals — and they work differently.
- Offers vary widely by school, conference, opt-in status and the player's role. Most college hockey players will not receive large NIL packages.
- The CHL change means college programs and major junior teams now recruit many of the same players, so families face more pathway choices earlier.
- Roster limits can mean fewer total roster spots at some participating schools, even as more scholarships become possible.
Questions to ask a college program
- Has your school opted in to the House settlement, and what is the hockey roster limit?
- Is the scholarship offer full or partial, and is it guaranteed for more than one year?
- Does the school share revenue with hockey players, and how is it decided?
- Are there NIL opportunities through the school or outside groups, and who reviews the contracts?
- What are the tax and eligibility implications of any NIL agreement? (Ask a qualified professional.)
This article is general education, not financial, tax or legal advice, and it is not a prediction of any player's recruitment or earnings.
Weighing junior, college or another pathway? The Personalized Player Hockey Roadmap ($39 one-time) turns your player's age, level and priorities into a written plan. It's educational guidance — not a talent evaluation, and not a guarantee of any scholarship, NIL deal or advancement.
Sources
- NCAA: DI Board of Directors formally adopts changes to roster limits (June 23, 2025)
Primary source: House settlement rules effective July 1, 2025; sport scholarship limits replaced by roster limits at participating schools.
- NCAA: DI Council approves rules change for preenrollment activities in men's ice hockey, skiing (Nov. 7, 2024)
Primary source: Major Junior (CHL) players keep NCAA eligibility if paid no more than actual and necessary expenses.
- College Sports Commission: Roster Limits
Sport-by-sport roster limits for schools participating in the House settlement.
- College Hockey Inc.: CHI House Settlement FAQ (June 9, 2025)
How opting in, revenue sharing and roster caps apply to Division I hockey.
- Penn State Athletics: Men's Hockey Earns Commitment From Top NHL Prospect Gavin McKenna (July 10, 2025)
Official commitment announcement. It does not disclose any NIL terms.
- The Athletic: What Gavin McKenna's commitment means for the NCAA, CHL, Penn State, NIL and more (July 9, 2025)
Secondary reporting on the NIL figure and the CHL eligibility change.
- Bleacher Report: Gavin McKenna's PSU NIL Contract Reportedly Around $700K (July 17, 2025)
Summarizes the ESPN, The Athletic and College Hockey Insider reports of roughly $700,000, and Michigan State's reported $200,000–$300,000 offer.
- NHL.com: Maple Leafs Draft Forward Gavin McKenna with the First Overall Selection (June 26, 2026)
Official source for his 2025–26 Penn State statistics and No. 1 draft selection.
